返回列表 发帖

谷爱凌英文习作:我承认,我爱上了恐惧--I Admit It, I'm in Love With Fear

谷爱凌2月8日在美国知名媒体《纽约时报》上发表了一篇名为《我承认,我爱上了恐惧》的文章。以一位青年女运动员的视角讲述了她在从事极限运动时与恐惧打交道”的心路历程。从这篇文章里,她讲述了自己对自由式滑雪保持热爱的独家秘籍热爱可抵漫长岁月,可抵旅途、伤痛和恐惧。如果你也像谷爱凌一样找到了自己热爱的事情,不妨尝试一下她的学霸秘籍,说不定下一个成功的就是你

I Admit It, I'm in Love With Fear

FOR THE LAST 10 OF MY 18 YEARS, I’ve pursued a tumultuous love affair with fear. I’m a professional freeskier, and twin-tipped skis, 22-foot halfpipes and double-cork rotations are my main sources of adrenaline, the truly addictive core of extreme sports.

在我18年人生的最近10年里,我一直在追寻的是一种纷乱的、充满恐惧的爱。我是一名专业的自由式滑雪运动员,脚上的一双雪板、22英尺长的u型池和各种特技动作是我肾上腺素的主要来源,这也是极限运动令人着迷的核心要素

Like all bewitching lovers (at least the ones in the novels I read, for lack of real-world experience), this significant other can be … mercurial. “Fear” is really an umbrella term for three distinct sensations: excitement, uncertainty, and pressure. I’ve learned that the nuanced indicators of each of these feelings can be instrumental to success when recognized and positively leveraged, and harbingers of injury when ignored.

正如那些迷人的爱情一样(至少是像我从小说中读到的那些一样,因为现实生活中我还缺乏相应的经验),我追寻的这位重要的“另一半会很……捉摸不定。实际上,“恐惧”可以算是三种不同感觉的总称,那就是兴奋不确定性压力。我已经发现,如果这些感觉能被识别并积极地利用,那么每一种感觉中都有一些微妙的要素可以帮助你成功。但如果忽视其原理,那么这些感觉可能就会是你受伤的前兆。

Though it’s easy to label extreme sport athletes as fearless or capricious, the countless hours I’ve spent visualizing tricks and practicing them in foam pits (foam. particles. everywhere) and on airbags (think giant Slip ’N Slide) suggest otherwise. It’s biologically counterintuitive for us to place ourselves in positions of risk, and while we make every effort to physically prepare, no amount of metaphorically safety-netted practice can equate to the unforgiving snow slope that rushes up to meet us after a steep kicker launches us into the air. Instead of ignoring fear, we build unique relationships with it by developing a profound sense of self-awareness and making deliberate risk assessments.