返回列表 发帖

[分享]NYU Stern MBA Interview Tips

1. Background about yourself.
Formy undergraduate studies, I attended the Richard Ivey School ofBusiness at the University of Western Ontario, a general managementbusiness program. I then spent 2.5 years working as a Senior ResearchAssistant at Standard & Poor’s. After working in finance for 2.5years, I wanted to tackle the world of entertainment, which is my firstlove in life. I had been singing in professional organizations for thepast 15 years and wanted to pursue a career in the business-side ofentertainment. NYU Stern was the only MBA program I applied to becausethey have the best media & entertainment specialization and I wasconfident that Stern could help me achieve my professional aspirations.At Stern, I interned at HBO, NBC Universal and post graduation I founda position in Strategic Marketing at NBC Universal, where I amcurrently still employed. I also finished with a 3.9 GPA as a SternScholar and placed in the top 5% of the class.

2.How has been your experience at NYU Stern? Has Stern met all yourcareer and personal aspirations? What do you like the most at NYU Stern?
NYUStern was a fantastic experience, and even thought I graduated in arecession, it met my career and personal aspirations. The schoolabsolutely permits the achievement of goals; however, the onus is onthe individual, of course, to fulfill these goals. I wanted to changecareers from finance to entertainment, which is difficult to do. Sternhas many ways of getting involved in the entertainment industry, whichmakes career changes easier. For example, I was accepted into theIndustry Mentoring Initiative; this was a small group of students whowere switching careers that were mentored by executives from differentdivisions of Time Inc. Stern also has a Media, Entertainment and SportsAssociation that went on treks to various media companies in both NewYork and Los Angeles. This club was critical in the success of mycareer change.