返回列表 发帖

Interview with Tanisha Drummer, Stanford MBA 2007

Tanisha (right) on a hiking trip in Porto Alegre, Brazil during the Brazil Service Learning Trip. Left to right: Terry Cumes MBA 2004; Katherine Boas MBA 2007; Pete Clarke MBA 2006; Tanisha Drummer MBA 2007.

Rita Winkler: Hi Tanisha and congratulations on your recent graduation. Can you tell us a bit about yourself?

Tanisha Drummer: I'm a Midwest girl at heart with a little East Coast flare. I grew up in Cleveland, Ohio, but call Chicago home. I moved to Chicago for college and never left. In fact, I'll be returning to Chicago after graduation.

RW: Before you applied to the GSB, what did you do professionally?

Tanisha: I was a Strategy Consultant at Accenture in the Retail and Consumer Industry where I worked on a range of clients in apparel, hardlines, drug stores, and service.

RW: Why did you apply to Stanford?

Tanisha: Because I was looking for the greatest growth experience possible. Stanford represented this for me. I love the small, inclusive, collaborative culture. I'd lived and worked in the Midwest and East Coast, and the West Coast represented a completely different environment in which to live and learn. I liked the emphasis on social innovation and entrepreneurship. And the School's culture and values were directly aligned with my personal values and career goals.

RW: Describe your experience here at Stanford.

Tanisha: This has been the most significant personal development experience of my life. I expected to come here and learn about management, but I didn't expect to be pushed so much as an individual. I wanted growth and that's what I got!

The first year was challenging, but that was balanced by friends who supported and helped me through it.

This is a play hard, work harder school. People are focused, but love to have fun.

RW: I'd like to follow up on the challenges. What were some of the challenges you faced and how did you overcome them?