My Story: From Hollywood to Booth

Sarah McGinty had an unusual advantage in applying to a top business school. Her mother has been a college admissions consultant for more than 20 years, and her father got his MBA from the University of Chicago in 1970. But Sarah didn’t take advantage of her mom’s experience counseling hundreds of university applicants, and her father felt little connection to Chicago after all those years.

“I think it was less of refusing to show her my applications and more that we had already talked a lot about why I was making the decision to go to business school,” recalls McGinty. “Besides, as a former English teacher, my mom had long before taught me to write a good essay. So we both felt confident it was a process I could undertake on my own.”

As a college senior, she interviewed with New York and Boston investment houses, but she turned down the offers after graduating from Harvard in 2002. Instead, looking for more of a creative opportunity, she sought a role in film production management. During her one year working endless hours with the talent agency Creative Artists Agency in Los Angeles, however, she discovered that her exposure to the creative side was pretty much learning “how to get absolutely anything done,” she says. For the next year, she was on the staff of the Kennedy/Marshall Co., producer of E.T. and The Bourne Identity. Her conclusion: “Working in the entertainment world isn’t work as we know it. It’s a battle of attrition rather than a meritocracy. I thought I could probably hang in long enough to succeed, but I didn’t want to.”